jump to content  sitemap
The Ohio State University Medical Center

Home > MEDTAPP > Healthcare Access Initiative

Healthcare Access Initiative

Fostering innovative partnerships between Ohio Department of Medicaid (ODM) and Ohio's academic medical centers and health sciences colleges and universities, in collaboration with the Ohio Department of Mental Health and Addiction Services (OhioMHAS), Ohio Department of Health and Ohio Board of Regents, the Medicaid Technical Assistance and Policy Program (MEDTAPP) Healthcare Access Initiative (HCA) supports the development and retention of healthcare practitioners to serve Ohio’s Medicaid population using emerging healthcare delivery models and evidence-based practices. The MEDTAPP HCA was designed to align with established, successful programs and leverage existing resources to train and retain healthcare practitioners to serve Medicaid beneficiaries in the following areas: Child and Adolescent Psychiatry, Community Psychiatry with a Geriatric and/or Integrated Behavioral Health/ Primary Care Focus, Pediatrics, Family Practice, Advanced Practice Nursing, and Dentistry.

Ohio’s MEDTAPP HCA will train and place additional psychiatrists, primary care physicians, advance practice nurses, dentists, and other practitioners to serve Medicaid beneficiaries of all ages. ODM has secured federal funds of approximately $38 million for this initiative since its inception in State Fiscal Year 2012.

Under the MEDTAPP HCA, ODM has selected the following 10 university partners as participants, including 16 total projects. Below is a map of current project locations:

Specific project institutions, colleges, and/or departments are identified below. Please click here for the Overview and Funded Project Descriptions document. 
• The University of Akron – College of Nursing
• Case Western Reserve University – School of Dental Medicine and Departments of Family Medicine/MetroHealth System, Pediatrics and Psychiatry
• Cleveland State University – School of Nursing and School of Social Work
• Kent State University – College of Nursing
• Northeast Ohio Medical University – Department of Psychiatry
• The Ohio State University – Colleges of Dentistry and Nursing, Moms2Be Program, Interdisciplinary Behavioral Health Education Program, Interdisciplinary Curriculum Development Program, and Medicaid Practice Placement and Learning Experiences Partnership Program
• Ohio University - Interprofessional Health Teams Project, Primary Care Scholarship program and an Integrated Mind-Body Program.
• University of Cincinnati – Colleges of Nursing and Medicine
• University of Toledo – Department of Psychiatry
• Wright State University – Division of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry and the Community Psychiatry Collaborative (involving the Departments of Psychiatry, Geriatrics, Community Health and Family Medicine)

Recently awarded MEDTAPP Healthcare Access Initiative Community Health Worker Program recipients:

  • Cleveland State University
  • Northeast Ohio Medical University
  • The Ohio State University
  • University of Toledo
  • Wright State University